BurdaStyle 6041 Nadine Plus

Fabric

 

Richloom R Gallery Trendi Opal, purchased from Fabric.com, originally to make cushion covers for my couch (I am in frequent need of cushion covers because one of my cats likes to nibble on fabric).

I am obsessed with this fabric – I love the texture, the pattern and the colours.
Large_0427060

 

Pattern

_MG_5474_original_large

BurdaSyle Nadine Plus.  I like the amazing collar plus the waist shaping offered by the peplum.

As soon as I saw this pattern, I had to make it in the Richloom Trendi Opal.

Adaptations

Pretty much made as per the pattern.  The only change was to remove the flared cuffs on the sleeves plus tapering in the waist by about 1.5 cm on each side.

Techniques

Sorry – can’t be bothered with in progress photos!

This was the first time I made a lined jacket.  It was the first project I made on my new Janome MS5027, with my previous most complex project being a freestyle patchwork bedspread I made in my teens.

Not to be deterred – I made up the jacket over Australia Day plus the following weekend. New techniques for this project:

  • Interfacing
  • Pleating
  • Button loops from bias binding (I put the button backing on the wrong side – design feature!)
  • Lining/facing.  I had to create the lining using the fashion fabric patterns and was very proud of myself for remembering to include a pleat down the centre back.
  • Topstitching – my alternative to bagging a jacket
  • I had every intention of bagging the jacket (as per Jacket week on the Great British Sewing Bee, but no matter what tutorials I looked at, it just didn’t make sense.  So I joined the lining and facings, then sewed around the right front, shoulders, left front.  I cuffed the sleeves as per the approved bagging technique.But when it came time to do the bottom hem, despite reading multiple online tutorials, I couldn’t make sense of the bagging origami.  So after half a day of putting the jacket inside out, the right way out, inside out again, I just rolled up the hemline, trapping the lining under the fashion fabric and top stitched it down.

Results

 

image3

Very happy with the final fit and the grandiose collar.  I haven’t worn this to work yet – originally because it was too warm to wear.  But we are now working in an icebox, so I should start putting outfits together with the jacket as the starring feature.

Links

 

BurdaStyle

Fabric.com

Grainline Studio – Jacket bagging tutorial

Threads magazine – bag your jacket

Closet Casefiles – Clare Sewalong

Fashion Incubator – 22692 – Bagging tutorial

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

